Shmurah Gluten-Free Oat Matzah Meal
Please note that while we do our best to get your matzah to you as safely as possible, shipping is at your own risk.
While the information below references Pesach, gluten-free shmurah matzah meal can be enjoyed year-round!
How is this matzah different than all other matzah?
Over 30 years ago, Rabbi Ephriam Kestenbaum developed matzah using a small patch of oats that were discovered to be completely free of gluten. Kestenbaum Gluten-Free Oat Matzah is now produced from oats grown in a dedicated field in Canada where no contact with other grains can occur. Using a special cleaning, grinding and milling process without steam, the natural bitterness of the oats is reduced. Part of the flour is shipped to Israel where machine matzah (uniform squares) is baked and matzah meal is ground, and the rest of the flour is shipped to Brooklyn where hand matzah (rustic rounds) are baked. The entire process, from the field to the oven to the box, is strictly supervised in accordance with Orthodox Jewish law.
How many boxes should I buy?
The shiur, or minimum quantity, necessary to eat to fulfill the mitzvah or make motzi is one third of a sheet of either machine or hand matzah (although of course you can eat more than that). Pesach this year includes two seders (each with three times we eat matzah), six Yom Tov meals (three of which overlap Shabbat), and Seudah Shlishit on the last day. This totals at least 13 times you would need to eat matzah, or a total of at least five sheets of machine or hand matzah for the week. Of course, this amount may vary if you have guests or if you use matzah for sandwiches, snacks, or other recipes. If you plan to use the matzah to make motzi throughout the year, please count the number of Shabbat and Yom Tov means for the year, and any other recipes requiring matzah. This very special gluten-free oat matzah is available in very limited quantities each year. It frequently sells out and is not available later in the year, so please order now for your needs throughout 2018.
It looks like there's gluten-free matzah on the Internet at much lower prices. Why should I buy Ketzenbaum Gluten-Free Oat Matzah?
In recent years, many websites and stores have offered products that appear to be gluten-free matzah but are actually labelled "matzah-style crackers" or "matzah-style squares." In other words, they're not matzah. Matzah can only be made from flour and water under strict conditions, but the "crackers" and "squares" are made with tapioca starch, potato starch, oils, eggs, and/or honey. They're even marked "not for seder" or "not for sacramental purposes." You can snack on them during the week because none of their ingredients are prohibited on Passover, but you can't use them to say the blessings over matzah during seders or make motzi during the week.
Isn't spelt matzah less expensive?
Wheat and spelt both contain gluten. While some oats can also contain gluten, our oats are tested yearly and found to contain less than 5 parts per million of gluten using the best testing method available today. As a result, our oat matzah is nearly 100% gluten free but spelt matzah will always have gluten. Spelt may be suitable for people with an allergy or sensitivity to wheat, but not for those people with Celiac Disease or another allergy or sensitivity to gluten.
Who can use Ketzenbaum Gluten-Free Oat Matzah?
Everyone! Of course, it's especially important for people who cannot tolerate gluten (such as those with Celiac Disease and other allergies and sensitivities) and want to fulfill the commandment of eating matzah on Passover. Many people who can tolerate gluten still find that gluten-free foods make them feel better.
What certifications does Ketzenbaum Gluten-Free Oat Matzah have?
We offer machine matzah (uniform squares), matzah meal ground from machine matzah, and hand matzah (rustic rounds). All three types are shmurah (meaning "guarded," which is a strict level of kosher supervision. All three types are made from the same gluten-free oat flour, which is certified kosher by Badatz Igud Rabbonim KIR (one of the largest kosher certifying bodies in the world). The machine matzah is baked and the matzah meal is ground under the supervision of Chug Chasam Sofer Bnei Brak. The hand machine is baked by the Kehilath Yakov Pupa & Zehlem Matzo Bakery in Brooklyn.
In addition, all three types of matzah have the "Crossed Grain" gluten-free certification from Coeliac UK. Read the test results here.
We Also Recommend